Course materials for/by Peter L Patrick. May contain copyright materials used for educational purposes. Please respect copyright.

 

LG 554

Analyzing Language in Society - Research Methods

Prof Peter L Patrick

Dept of Language & Linguistics

University of Essex

 

Consult this page weekly for updates to resources. You are responsible for knowing what's here.

 

Autumn term 2017 Calendar

Class meetings: Wed 11am 1pm, in room 3.407

 

Wed 11 Oct

Week 2

Introduction. Research experiences, methods, questions. Doing sociolinguistics. Definitions, histories.

Wed 18 Oct

Week 3

Methodological themes. Types of data & data collection. Recording speech: Digital technology, microphones.

Wed 25 Oct

Week 4

Ethics: Consent/releases. Sampling: Social surveys.

Wed 1 Nov

Week 5

Observation. Ethnography. Sociolinguistic interviews I.

Wed 08 Nov

Week 6

Sociolinguistic interviews II. Interview modules. Records/archiving.

Wed 15 Nov

Week 7

Variation analysis. Linguistic variables.

Wed 22 Nov

Week 8

Catching up on work. First assignment due Thurs 23 Nov.

Wed 29 Nov

Week 9

Narrative analysis.

Wed 06 Dec

Week 10

Rapid/anonymous elicitation tasks.

Wed 13 Dec

Week 11

Social network measures. 2nd assignment due Thu 14 Dec.

 

Course updates

Aims and Coverage

Assessment

Complete References 554

Online Notes

 

Contact me

Office: Rm 4.328, ext. 2088

email: patrickp, at essex.ac.uk

Office hours: Mon 1:30 - 2:30pm, Weds 2:30 - 3:30pm

Peter L Patrick Course-pages

Peter L Patrick homepage

page last updated 11 September 2017